MDOT Home Home
MDOT Home   NFC Contact   |  MDOT Home
MDOT - Main NHS Map Page Gogebic County Ontonagon County Keweenaw County Houghton County Baraga County Iron County Marquette County Dickinson County Alger County Menominee County Delta County Schoolcraft County Luce County Chippewa County Mackinac County Emmet County Cheboygan County Presque Isle County Charlevoix County Charlevoix County (Beaver Island Area) Leelanau County Antrim County Otsego County Montmorency County Benzie County Grand Traverse County Kalkaska County Crawford County Alpena County Oscoda County Alcona County Manistee County Wexford County Missaukee County Roscommon County Ogemaw County Iosco County Mason County Lake County Osceola County Clare County Gladwin County Arenac County Oceana County Newaygo County Mecosta County Isabella County Midland County Bay County Huron County Muskegon County Montcalm County Gratiot County Saginaw County Tuscola County Sanilac County Ottawa County Kent County Ionia County Clinton County Shiawassee County Genesee County Lapeer County St. Clair County Allegan County Barry County Eaton County Ingham County Livingston County Oakland County Macomb County Van Buren County Kalamazoo County Calhoun County Jackson County Washtenaw County Wayne County Berrien County Cass County St. Joseph County Branch County Hillsdale County Lenawee County Monroe County
National Highway System (NHS) Maps

Important Revision Information: The maps accessible from this page will not be updated with the latest FHWA approved revisions. For any NHS revisions approved after April 22, 2015, refer to the MDOT NFC web mapping application at and click on the layers button. Check the FHWA Approved NHS layer button nested under NFC-NHS-Layers and NFC/NHS (only one layer of four from this group can be displayed at once). Then zoom to the desired area and refer to the online legend.

The PDF maps accessed from this page will not be updated until the statewide NFC review completes sometime in 2016 and FHWA has reached a decision on proposed NHS revisions.

Questions on NHS or NFC can be submitted to:

The National Highway System (NHS) was established on November 28, 1995, through the National Highway System Designation Act of 1995; the system was expanded when the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century was adopted on June 9, 1998. On October 1, 2012, the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) went into effect which further expanded the National Highway System. MAP-21 added all other principal arterials not previously included in the NHS. The original intent of the National Highway System as taken from the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 (ISTEA), Section 1006 was to:

Provide an interconnected system of principal arterial routes which will serve major population centers, international border crossings, ports, airports, public transportation facilities, and other intermodal transportation facilities and other major travel destinations; meet national defense requirements; and serve interstate and interregional travel." -- Federal guidelines for the selection process include a functional classification requirement.

Here are the sub-systems of roadways that make up the National Highway System as taken from the FHWA National Highway System website.

  • Interstate: The Eisenhower Interstate System of highways retains its separate identity within the NHS.
  • Other Principal Arterials: These are highways in rural and urban areas which provide access between an arterial and a major port, airport, public transportation facility, or other intermodal transportation facility.
  • Strategic Highway Network (STRAHNET): This is a network of highways which are important to the United States' strategic defense policy and which provide defense access, continuity and emergency capabilities for defense purposes.
  • Major Strategic Highway Network Connectors: These are highways which provide access between major military installations and highways which are part of the Strategic Highway Network.
  • Intermodal Connectors: These highways provide access between major intermodal facilities and the other four subsystems making up the National Highway System.

Mileage Information: This route mileage is from the 2013 Highway Performance Monitoring System (HPMS) report, this is the latest information as of April 22, 2015. Michigan has roughly 6,428 miles in the National Highway System of roads. MDOT has jurisdiction on 5,227 of the NHS route miles, other local transportation agencies have jurisdiction over the remaining 1,201 route miles. Not all NHS roads are under MDOT jurisdiction and not all MDOT routes are NHS.

Note: A county NHS map was produced for all counties, although some counties do not contain any NHS roads in them.

These maps require Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing, if you experience a pdf error opening the file and are using IE v11, try a different browser. The pdf map geography shown is from version 12 (2012) of the Michigan Geographic Framework (MGF) updated to show the enhanced MAP-21 NHS. As of April 22, 2015, no revisions to the NHS have been approved by FHWA since these maps were created.

Back to NHS main page
County :
State of Michigan Map Home   |  NFC Contact   |  MDOT Home   |  State Web Sites
Privacy Policy  |   Link Policy  |   Accessibility Policy  |   Security Policy
Copyright © 2001-2018 State of Michigan